FCP logo

Dragons beat Águas Santas (31-30) in the intense final of the Portuguese Cup played at the Pavilhão Multiusos em Sines

FC Porto Sofarma did history after defeating Águas Santas at the Pavilhão Multiusos de Sines, 31-30, thus winning their eighth Portuguese Cup in history and achieving the first ever double in blue and white handball, following the 21st title of national champion, won this season.

Just like in the semi-final, the team led by Magnus Andersson started on top and moved to 3-0 before the third minute ran out, then facing the reaction from the team coming from Maia, which reached the first third of the first-half losing only by one (5-4). The blue and whites recovered the control of the match despite playing outnumbered, for a while, and reached the break winning by seven (18-11), the biggest advantage in the match.

During the second-half, the Dragons also led by seven on three occasions, but Águas Santas, with the help of goalkeeper António Campos, balanced the match again and reached the tie (29-29) with one minute to go before the end, only to have Fábio Magalhães push it to 31-30 with seconds to go. Miguel Martins was the top scorer for the blue and whites with seven goals. 

FC Porto Sofarma ended the season in the best possible way, with two main trophies in Portugal, adding to it the best participation ever in a Portuguese club at the EHF Cup.


Portuguese Cup, Final
Pavilhão Multiusos de Sines

Referees: Rúben Maia and André Nunes

FC PORTO SOFARMA: Alfredo Quintana and Thomas Bauer (g.k.); Victor Iturriza (1), Yoan Balazquéz, Miguel Martins (7), Djibril M’Bengue, Ángel Hernández (3), Rui Silva, Daymaro Salina (3), Leonel Fernandes, Alexis Borges (1), Diogo Branquinho (5), António Areia (5), André Gomes (4), Miguel Alves and Fábio Magalhães (2)
Coach: Magnus Andersson

ÁGUAS SANTAS: António Campos and Henrique Carlota (g.k.); Mário rego, Fábio Teixeira, Vasco Santos, Pedro Cruz (9), Gonçalo Vieira (3), Mário Lourenço (2), Nuno Fernandes, Jorge Mendes, Francisco Fontes (6), Mário Oliveira (7), Belmiro Alves (2), António Aparício and Ruben Santos (1)
Coach: José António Silva

At halftime: 18-11

    FC Porto Portal uses cookies in different ways. Know more here .
    By continuing to browse the site you are consenting to its use.